Go Back   US MUSCLE US Muscle Forum Recreation
User Name
Password

Old 29-06-2014, 07:56 PM

Name: Steve
Question Web Design, Hosting Costs, Pros/Cons..?

Has anyone here had a website created (and who by if they are happy with them), a clue as to hosting and running costs, and anything to consider and look out for?

It's early days yet, but I am thinking if I need to do get something up, I am a completely inexperienced novice regarding it..

I'd need someone to design me a website and a company to host it.

Ideas/advice?

Find this Ad annoying? Want it removed? Then register now!.. It's FREE! Click HERE.
Old 29-06-2014, 08:11 PM

Name: Chris
Steve hosting is cheap. Use hostgator or dreamhost in the US. I use dreamhost. I have 3 sites and it costs me $9 a month. You can also register your domain with them. One stop shop

As for a site you can build a pretty decent site yourself using various tools. Wordpress ain't bad but requires a bit of CSS and HTML knowledge. Wix is the upcomer. All drag and drop

You can get a reasonably basic site built for arond $500. But they'll charge more once you start adding functionality

Here's on I am in the middle of building. It has about 2 days work in it so far and it's about a third done. Using a test domain till I live. It's built using Wordpress but I think I like wix better

Www.theluxfords.info

This one I built for my wife's business it took me about half a day. Used rapid weaver to build this one

Www.chichild.com.au

It all depends what your website is about

---------- Post added at 08:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:05 PM ----------

Ps. I have zero coding experience
Old 29-06-2014, 08:20 PM

The website would be commercial and about a product with explanations.. photos.. You know.. that sort of thing.. Maybe just 1 or 2 pages.
Visitors would need to be able to add item/s to a shopping cart and make a purchase. I assume that would mean customer accounts and log-ins or perhaps not.