Go Back   US MUSCLE US Muscle Forum Technical Discussion
User Name
Password


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26-04-2010, 07:40 AM
69coupe 69coupe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,778
Name: Peter
Rear sway bar

Anyone fitted a rear sway bar on a first gen using a local product? I was wondering if a Holden after market type could be made to fit ? (as in low cost)
I know you can buy them in the States, ones that dont require welding but drill and tap into the chassis rails and have U bolts around the axle tubes, that would be ideal.
Anyone fitted one locally ?
__________________
69 Camaro
Reply With Quote


Find this Ad annoying? Want it removed? Then register now!.. It's FREE! Click HERE.
  #2  
Old 26-04-2010, 08:28 AM
USA-69Z's Avatar
USA-69Z USA-69Z is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: hell
Posts: 2,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69coupe View Post
Anyone fitted a rear sway bar on a first gen using a local product? I was wondering if a Holden after market type could be made to fit ? (as in low cost)
I know you can buy them in the States, ones that dont require welding but drill and tap into the chassis rails and have U bolts around the axle tubes, that would be ideal.
Anyone fitted one locally ?
peter , im pretty sure pedders have a universal tyrpe rear you can get...I think i done it years ago on my 71 i use to own. just take your chassis rail measurements. also dave at pontiworld has them for around $300.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-04-2010, 08:30 AM
chevguy's Avatar
chevguy chevguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mackay,QLD
Posts: 3,342
I just ordered the camaro one through pedders, they get them made and have the specs already anyway.
__________________
Budgets are for treasurers not car builders, words of a man that learnt the hard way Ken
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-04-2010, 08:37 AM
BlackoutSteve's Avatar
BlackoutSteve BlackoutSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Victoria. The Nanny State
Posts: 11,261
Name: Steve
When Roger Penske was racing these, they used a standard 11/16" front sway bar and turned up-side-down for the rear.
It did involve making some custom brackets, so if you have a welder and angle grinder, it wont be hard to do.
The details and parts images are in Wayne D. Guinn's "Camaro. Untold Secrets" Pg 20-26.
__________________
Elephant http://img.ps2netdrivers.net/img/a1/marshall.amplifier.acoustic.as50d.soloist/mini.jpg (click on the amp!) Post pictures! ..or it never happened.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-04-2010, 08:45 AM
69coupe 69coupe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,778
Name: Peter
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevguy View Post
I just ordered the camaro one through pedders, they get them made and have the specs already anyway.
Thanks for the replies, I will call in and see Pedders. I guess it makes no difference if its a 9 inch diff instead of a chev 12 bolt ??
__________________
69 Camaro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-04-2010, 08:46 AM
USA-69Z's Avatar
USA-69Z USA-69Z is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: hell
Posts: 2,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevguy View Post
I just ordered the camaro one through pedders, they get them made and have the specs already anyway.
yes thats rite Ken , they do getem made up thru 'whiteline' my front was thru pedders and came back' silver with whiteline stickers'
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26-04-2010, 09:41 AM
chevguy's Avatar
chevguy chevguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mackay,QLD
Posts: 3,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69coupe View Post
Thanks for the replies, I will call in and see Pedders. I guess it makes no difference if its a 9 inch diff instead of a chev 12 bolt ??
I run a 9"' as well, had to make up a couple of mounts but no big deal...by the way make sure the u bolts they give you are for the 9'' not a 12 bolt as the 9'' axle tubes are bigger the the 12 bolt ones.

If you need some photos of how I mounted mine let me know.
__________________
Budgets are for treasurers not car builders, words of a man that learnt the hard way Ken

Last edited by chevguy; 26-04-2010 at 10:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-04-2010, 12:08 PM
69coupe 69coupe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,778
Name: Peter
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevguy View Post
I run a 9"' as well, had to make up a couple of mounts but no big deal...by the way make sure the u bolts they give you are for the 9'' not a 12 bolt as the 9'' axle tubes are bigger the the 12 bolt ones.

If you need some photos of how I mounted mine let me know.
Photos would be great. Many thanks
__________________
69 Camaro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-04-2010, 03:19 PM
chevguy's Avatar
chevguy chevguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mackay,QLD
Posts: 3,342
Here are the brackets I made up and welded onto the chassis rail(actually forgot to weld out that edge you can see so lucky you asked for a photo )



Fitted the axle tube mounts and u bolts then tacked the mount onto the axle tube after tightening u bolts.


Hope this helps
__________________
Budgets are for treasurers not car builders, words of a man that learnt the hard way Ken
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-04-2010, 03:35 PM
OldIndian's Avatar
OldIndian OldIndian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Sydney
Posts: 627
$50 on ebay for a hk type 3/4 inch..and get the front one for nothing..claims never been fitted.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/holden-hg-hk-...item19bbb06e38
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26-04-2010, 04:04 PM
BlackoutSteve's Avatar
BlackoutSteve BlackoutSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Victoria. The Nanny State
Posts: 11,261
Name: Steve
By the way Pete.. Have you actually felt the need to fit a rear one? Do you suffer from lot's of understeer?
Not sure about you, but my 69 with it's stock 11/16" front only was very flat in the corners. Had some understeer if I really pushed it, but on Bias F60 Firestones, I wasn't about to blame the suspension.
__________________
Elephant http://img.ps2netdrivers.net/img/a1/marshall.amplifier.acoustic.as50d.soloist/mini.jpg (click on the amp!) Post pictures! ..or it never happened.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-04-2010, 04:51 PM
69coupe 69coupe is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,778
Name: Peter
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackoutsteve View Post
By the way Pete.. Have you actually felt the need to fit a rear one? Do you suffer from lot's of understeer?
Not sure about you, but my 69 with it's stock 11/16" front only was very flat in the corners. Had some understeer if I really pushed it, but on Bias F60 Firestones, I wasn't about to blame the suspension.
Steve,
Actually handles quiet well. Just something to give me something to do in retirement
__________________
69 Camaro
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger