PDA

View Full Version : Selling a car online ? READ THIS NOW


OldsmobilesDownUnder.com
21-11-2009, 08:01 AM
Dear Forum friends ,

I know there will be those of you who know about this SCAM already but I had to post this as i personally know of 2 people through my work that have been ripped off and another friend who recieved a similar email regarding a car he was selling.

The funniest part of this is the fact these off-shore morons will send this to you even if you are selling a WATERTANK ! ... just because an email address is on an ad they will think it is fair game.

here is the email reply i recieved after an initial "is this still for sale ?"...

"Thank you for your reply and sorry I DON'T reply in time because I
used to be busy at work i am a marine engineer and I do not have much
time here in the ship .. I check my mail once I have my break .. and
I'll have my 3 months off soon ... and will be in state .. I want you
know that i am interested in coming to look at it but i can not since
i am at work now...And also there is no how i can pay for this item
than to send you the money from my PayPal account since i did not have
cash here and no way to send you the cash.So do give me your Paypal
account email address, and price to sell the car....So I can credit
the money into your account ASAP and I want you to know that I can pay
my Paypal account only since I'm on this sea this time and also my
shipper will come for the pick up of the car to physically take it
once you have received your payment,so no shipping.And if you don't
have a paypal account yet,its pretty easy to set one up at
www.paypal.com i will be expecting your email soon.I hope this is
alright, i hope to read from you very soon."

Once you give them your paypal they send you an email that looks like it comes from paypal advising that PAYPAL are holding funds for you ... usually about $500-800 more than your advertised price... with a link to view the $$ at PAYPAL ... DO NOT USE the LINK ... LOG IN TO PAYPAL seperately and you will see NOTHING is there.

They then ask YOU to pay their shipping agent YOUR money (usually $500ish) before you have actually recieved a CENT ! to cover the costs of your vehicle being assessed and picked up so that their FICTIONAL FUNDS can be released to you.

AMAZING how gullible Aussies and no doubt others around the world fall for this but hey they must be making a killing.

BE CAREFUL IN THE VIRTUAL WORLD